top of page

Vulnerability to Sin [Sermon]

Liberty, Missouri, USA

September 2011



A. Frustrated.

Daniel 3:16-18

Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego replied to him, “King Nebuchadnezzar, we do not need to defend ourselves before you in this matter.

17 If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to deliver us from it, and he will deliver us from Your Majesty’s hand.

18 But even if he does not, we want you to know, Your Majesty, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up.”.


Hab 3:16-18

16 I heard and my heart pounded, my lips quivered at the sound; decay crept into my bones, and my legs trembled. Yet I will wait patiently for the day of calamity to come on the nation invading us. 17 Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, 18 yet I will rejoice in the LORD,


B. Influences.

1. Social Influences.

1 Corinthians 15:33


2. Familial Influences

Proverbs 29:15 The rod of correction imparts wisdom, but a child left to himself disgraces his mother.

Proverbs 22:6 Train up a child in the way he should go, and even when he is old he will not depart from it..

"The Jukes: A Study in Crime, Pauperism, Disease and Heredity“ - Sociologist Richard L. Dugdale, 1874

C. Mountain Top.

Elijah

I Kings 18,19

D. Indisciplined.

Exodus 20:20

Romans 2:4 Or do you show contempt for the riches of his kindness, forbearance and patience, not realizing that God’s kindness is intended to lead you to repentance?

E. Youth.

We know what we know but we don’t know what we don’t know.

Pervasive sins of the youth can stay for a lifetime.

Job 13:26 For You write bitter things against me And make me to inherit the iniquities of my youth…

F. Second Time.

James 1:15 Then, after desire has conceived, it gives birth to sin; and sin, when it is full-grown, gives birth to death.

G. Alone.

Genesis 2:18

“Sin wants to be alone with people. It takes them away from the community. The more lonely people become, the more destructive the power of sin over them.” Dietrich Bonhoeffer

Hebrews 9:14

How much more, then, will the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself unblemished to God, cleanse our consciences from acts that lead to death, so that we may serve the living God!

What can wash away my sin? Nothing but the blood of Jesus; What can make me whole again? Nothing but the blood of Jesus. Oh! precious is the flow That makes me white as snow; No other fount I know, Nothing but the blood of Jesus.

Photo by KirstenMarie on Unsplash

Comentários


Recent Sermons

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Whatsapp
Anchor 1
bottom of page