top of page

Name Brand - The Blessing God Gives

Glen Arm, Maryland, USA (Recorded during Covid)

June 2020

Numbers 6:22-27

22 The Lord said to Moses,

23 “Tell Aaron and his sons, ‘This is how you are to bless the Israelites. Say to them:

24 “‘“The Lord bless you and keep you;

25 the Lord make his face shine on you and be gracious to you;

26 the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.”’

27 “So they will put my name on the Israelites, and I will bless them.”


A. The Lord bless you

1. He is present to Bless

2 Corinthians 3:17 Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.

Psalm 30:7 LORD, when you favored me, you made my royal mountain stand firm; but when you hid your face, I was dismayed.

2. He is present to Punish

Amos 9:1–4

1 I saw the Lord standing by the altar, and he said: “…. Not one will get away, none will escape.

2 Though they dig down to the depths below, from there my hand will take them. …

4 Though they are driven into exile by their enemies, there I will command the sword to slay them. “I will keep my eye on them for harm and not for good.”

Heaven is where the face of God is fully turned Toward with His Presence to Bless. Hell is where the face of God is fully turned Away with His Presence to Punish.

Hebrews 10:31 It is a dreadful thing to fall into the hands of the living God.

What makes Hell terrifying is not just the absence of the Lord to bless, but the presence of the Lord to punish.

B. The Lord keep you.

Jude 1:24 To him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you before his glorious presence without fault and with great joy—

Luke 17:33 Whoever tries to keep their life will lose it, and whoever loses their life will preserve it.

Luke 15:4-6

4 “Suppose one of you has a hundred sheep and loses one of them. Doesn’t he leave the ninety-nine in the open country and go after the lost sheep until he finds it?

5 And when he finds it, he joyfully puts it on his shoulders

6 and goes home. Then he calls his friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost sheep.’

John 6:37-40

37 All those the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never drive away. … 39 And this is the will of him who sent me, that I shall lose none of all those he has given me, but raise them up at the last day.

40 For my Father’s will is that everyone who looks to the Son and believes in him shall have eternal life, and I will raise them up at the last day.”

C. The Lord be gracious to you

Divine Grace is a voluntary, undeserved and unaffordable goodness shown by a Superior Being to an inferior being.

1. Voluntary

Exodus 33:19 And the Lord said, “I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, … I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion.

2. Undeserved

Ephesians 2:8-9 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— 9 not by works, so that no one can boast.

3. Unaffordable

Romans 5:8 But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.


D. The Lord give you peace.

Mark 4:35-41

35 That day when evening came, he said to his disciples, “Let us go over to the other side.”

36 Leaving the crowd behind, they took him along, just as he was, in the boat. There were also other boats with him.

37 A furious squall came up, and the waves broke over the boat, so that it was nearly swamped.

38 Jesus was in the stern, sleeping on a cushion. The disciples woke him and said to him, “Teacher, don’t you care if we drown?”

39 He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm.

40 He said to his disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?”

41 They were terrified and asked each other, “Who is this? Even the wind and the waves obey him!”

Real inner peace is not one when there is serenity outside, but one that exists in the midst of a raging storm.

John 16:33 “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

E. His Name on you.

Isaiah 44:5 Some will say, ‘I belong to the Lord’; others will call themselves by the name of Jacob; still others will write on their hand, ‘The Lord’s,’ and will take the name Israel.

Ephesians 1:13

And you also were included in Christ when you heard the message of truth, the gospel of your salvation. When you believed, you were marked in him with a seal, the promised Holy Spirit.

Revelation 22:4 They will see his face, and his name will be on their foreheads.


Comments


Recent Sermons

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Whatsapp
Anchor 1
bottom of page