top of page

Assessment and Apology - A Sermon on Spiritual Indifference


Nehemiah 1:4-7

4 When I heard these things, I sat down and wept. For some days I mourned and fasted and prayed before the God of heaven.

5 Then I said: “Lord, the God of heaven, the great and awesome God, who keeps his covenant of love with those who love him and keep his commandments,

6 let your ear be attentive and your eyes open to hear the prayer your servant is praying before you day and night for your servants, the people of Israel. I confess the sins we Israelites, including myself and my father’s family, have committed against you.

7 We have acted very wickedly toward you. We have not obeyed the commands, decrees and laws you gave your servant Moses.



Deut 28:64 Then the Lord will scatter you among all nations, from one end of the earth to the other.

Babylonian Empire

Persian Empire

Ezra

Nehemiah

1. Assessment

7 We have acted very wickedly toward you. We have not obeyed the commands, decrees and laws you gave your servant Moses.


2. Confession

Remorse vs repentance.


2 Corinthians 7:10 Godly sorrow brings repentance that leads to salvation and leaves no regret, but worldly sorrow brings death.


1:6 I confess the sins we Israelites, including myself and my father’s family, have committed against you.


The sin of spiritual indifference.


3. Forgiveness

1 John 1:9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.


Mark 15:22-24

They brought Jesus to the place called Golgotha (which means “the place of the skull”).

23 Then they offered him wine mixed with myrrh, but he did not take it.

24 And they crucified him.


Comments


Recent Sermons

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Whatsapp
Anchor 1
bottom of page